Senior Lea Gorny hugs art teacher Andy Cunningham, who presented her with the Award of Excellence in Art.

High schoolers recognized at awards assembly for academic, artistic, athletic achievements

Jacqueline Chao
French teacher Richard Day and Latin teacher Jane Batarseh speak about senior Lily Brown prior to presenting her with an Award of Excellence in World Language.

On May 29, high school faculty and staff recognized a number of students, mostly juniors and seniors, for their academic, artistic and athletic achievements and contributions to their communities at the high school awards assembly.


Rachel Carson Book Award: Junior Joe Zales


University of Rochester Awards

Bausch and Lomb Honorary Science Award: Junior Jacqueline Chao

Frederick Douglass & Susan B. Anthony Humanities & Social Science Award: Junior Chardonnay Needler


Harvard Book Award: Junior Allison Zhang


Kenyon Book Award: Junior Gabi Alvarado


George Washington Book Award: Junior Jack Christian


Barbara Lazar Excellence in Music Award: Juniors Heidi Johnson and Allison Zhang


Rensselaer Medal: Junior Heidi Johnson


James W. Weatherholt II Excellence in History Award: Junior Josh Friedman


National Merit Scholarship Program

Commended students: Seniors Sahej Claire, Amalie Fackenthal and Smita Sikaria


Distinguished Scholar Awards: Seniors Ulises Barajas, Lily Brown, Atsuo Chiu, Annya Dahmani, Katia Dahmani, Nina Dym, Amalie Fackenthal, Lea Gorny, Sonja Hansen, Bryce Longoria, Carlos Nuñez, Smita Sikaria and Zihao Sui


Cum Laude Recognition

New inductees, class of 2018: Seniors Annya and Katia Dahmani and Sonja Hansen,

New inductees, class of 2019: Juniors Jack Christian, Heidi Johnson and Allison Zhang

Former members, class of 2018: Seniors Sahej Claire, Smita Sikaria and Zihao Sui


Jacqueline Chao
Senior Lea Gorny hugs art teacher Andy Cunningham, who presented her with the Award of Excellence in Art.

Senior Awards of Excellence

Art: Lea Gorny

Communications: Nina Dym and Sonja Hansen

Computer Science: Carlos Nuñez

English: Katia Dahmani

History: Nico Burns

Math: Zihao Sui

Music: Lily Brown

Physical Education: Ulises Barajas

Science: Sahej Claire

World Language: Ulises Barajas and Lily Brown


Sophomore Symposium Awards

First place: Larkin Barnard-Bahn

Second place: Jackson Margolis

Third place: Spencer Scott


Alice & Herbert Matthews Scholarships

Creative writing: Senior Zihao Sui

Mathematics: Senior Atsuo Chiu


Wesley Jamison Scholarship: Senior Smita Sikaria


Kingman Tung, M.D., Award for Academic Excellence and Exceptional Character: Senior Sonja Hansen


Jacqueline Chao
Athletic director Matt Vargo, right, presents sophomore Jackson Crawford with his Country Day Scholar-Athlete Award.

Community Service Award: Senior Sahej Claire


Country Day Scholar-Athlete Awards

Freshmen: Erin Wilson and Max Wu

Sophomores: Jackson Crawford and Alyssa Valverde

Juniors: Jack Christian, Heidi Johnson and Joe Zales

Seniors: Amalie Fackenthal and Reggie Fan


CIF (California Interscholastic Federation) A. Dale Lacky Scholarship Recognition: Senior Amalie Fackenthal


Esmail Sports Boosters Awards: Seniors Miles Edwards and Yasmin Gupta


Parents’ Association Amicus Award: Senior Carlos Nuñez

Print Friendly, PDF & Email