Octagon brings home 19 awards from San Francisco journalism convention (slideshow included)

The Octagon staff traveled to San Francisco, April 12-14, for the annual spring National High School Journalism Convention. The event was sponsored by the Journalism Education Association and the National Scholastic Press Association.

Octagon staffers participated in 18 write-off competitions, earning an Honorable Mention, Excellent or Superior in 17 of them.

In addition, the print Octagon took seventh place in the Best of Show competition in the “Newspaper Tabloid 16 or Fewer Pages” category, and the online Octagon placed sixth in the “Website Large School” category.  (The “Website Large School” category is typically for publications at schools with 1500 or more students, so the staff doesn’t know why the Octagon was placed in this category instead of in “Website Small School.”)

Because the yearbook staff attended the fall convention in Dallas, Octagon staffers also participated in write-off contests in the yearbook category.

In addition, staffers competed in Quiz Bowl, a game-show-like test of current events, press law, U.S. government, AP style and journalistic terminology. One of the teams – senior Sahej Claire, juniors Chardonnay Needler and Mehdi Lacombe and sophomore Jackson Margolis – placed third of 26 teams after losing to the eventual winner, West Linn High School, in the semifinals.

Listed below are staffers’ individual awards.


Writing Contests

Newswriting: Senior Sonja Hansen, Honorable Mention

Editorial Writing: Senior Sahej Claire, Honorable Mention

Feature Writing: Senior Annya Dahmani, Honorable Mention

Sports Writing: Junior Jack Christian, Excellent

Review Writing: Junior Mehdi Lacombe, Excellent

Commentary Writing: Sophomore Jackson Margolis, Honorable Mention

News Editing and Headline Writing: Junior Chardonnay Needler, Superior


News Layout Contests

Newspaper Layout: Junior Mohini Rye, Superior

Newsmagazine Layout: Junior Allison Zhang, Excellent


Press Law and Ethics

Press Law and Ethics: Senior Katia Dahmani, Excellent


Yearbook Contests

Yearbook Copy Caption, Academics: Sophomore Héloïse Schep, Honorable Mention

Yearbook Copy Caption, Clubs: Sophomore Anna Frankel, Honorable Mention


Graphic Design Contests

Graphic Design, Advertising: Sophomore Larkin Barnard-Bahn, Excellent


Photography Contests

Portfolio: Junior Jacqueline Chao, Excellent

First-Year Photo: Sophomore Shimin Zhang, Honorable Mention


Broadcast Contests

Broadcast Feature Story: Junior Harrison Moon, Honorable Mention

Broadcast Newswriting: Sophomore David Situ, Excellent


By Sahej Claire


[slideshow_deploy id=’28221′]


—All photos by Jacqueline Chao

Print Friendly, PDF & Email