Students earn honors in academics, arts, athletics at high-school awards ceremony

High schoolers were honored for their achievements at the high-school awards ceremony held in the gym, May 31.

Sophomore Project Presentation Awards

1st place: Annya Dahmani

2nd place: Sonja Hansen

3rd place: Rick Barros III

The juniors received the following honors.

Rachel Carson Book Award: Camille Locke

University of Rochester Awards

Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award: Zane Jakobs

Frederick Douglas & Susan B. Anthony Humanities & Social Science Award: Isabelle Leavy

Harvard Book Award: Marigot Fackenthal

Kenyon Book Award: Austin Talamantes

Rensselaer Medal Scholarship: Avi Bhullar

The James W. Weatherholt II Excellence in History Award: Christian Van Vleck

The seniors received the following honors.

SCDS Awards of Excellence

Art: Dakota Cosgrove, Zoe Dym, Elinor Hilton and Jacob Sands

Communications: Zoë Bowlus, Madison Judd and Manson Tung

Computer Science: Emma Brown

Drama: Akilan Murugesan

English: Zoë Bowlus

History: Anthony Swaminathan

Music: Serajh Esmail

Science: Anthony Swaminathan

World Language: Zoë Bowlus


Alice & Herbert Matthews Scholarships

Creative Writing: Zoë Bowlus

Mathematics: Anthony Swaminathan

Wesley Jamison Scholarship

Drama: Gracie Strumpfer

Science: Manson Tung

Kingman Tung, M.D. Award for Academic Excellence and Exceptional Character: Diego Perochena

Community Service Awards: Akilan Murugesan and Manson Tung

National Merit Scholarship Program

Commended Students: Seniors Keaton Ochoa, Bradford Petchauer and Gracie Strumpfer

Finalists: Seniors Amelia Fineberg and Anthony Swaminathan

Cum Laude Recognition

New Inductees

Class of 2016:  Aidan Galati, Jenny Kerbs and Elie Kuppermann

Class of 2017: Marigot Fackenthal and Camille Locke

Inducted in 2015

Class of 2016: Emma Brown, Amelia Fineberg, Keaton Ochoa and Anthony Swaminathan

Country Day Scholar-Athlete Awards

Freshmen Heidi Johnson and Jack Christian

Sophomores Amalie Fackenthal and Jayce McCain

Juniors Alexa Mathisen and Emil Erickson

Seniors Sydney Michel and Brad Petchauer

CIF Dale Lacky Scholarship Awards: Senior Sydney Michel

Sports Boosters Club Awards: Seniors Julia Owaidat and Serajh Esmail

Parents Association Amicus Award: Senior Zoë Bowlus

—By Grace Naify

Print Friendly, PDF & Email