High School Awards Assembly held May 26

At the annual High School Awards Assembly, May 26, juniors and seniors received awards and a boy and a girl from each grade received the Country Day Scholar-Athlete Awards.

The Rachel Carson Book Award, presented by a representative from Chatham College, was given to junior Gracie Strumpfer.

Junior Amelia Fineberg was awarded the Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award, and junior Manson Tung won the Susan B. Anthony Humanities & Social Science Award, both sponsored by the University of Rochester.

Teacher Patricia Jacobsen, who attended graduate school at Harvard University, presented the Harvard Book Award.

The prize was awarded to junior Zoe Bowlus for her excellence in academics and extracurriculars. Bowlus received an anthology of Harvard history, called “The Harvard Book.”

English teacher Jane Bauman, awarded the Kenyon Book Award to junior Akilan Murugesan. Murugesan received a one-year subscription to The Kenyon Review (which is published at Kenyon College) along with a certificate.

“(The Kenyon Review) is a prestigious literary magazine that publishes fiction, non-fiction, and poetry,” Bauman said.

Junior Anthony Swaminathan received The James W. Weatherholt II Excellence in History Award.

History teacher Sue Nellis compared Swaminathan and Weatherholt II, ‘06, claiming their deep love for history would have sparked an interesting conversation.

The next award was The Arts Philanthropy Award, which was given to senior Lara Kong for her theater awareness program.

Kong’s program has raised over $100,000 and has helped thousands of students have an opportunity to watch musicals. Kong also received a Community Service Award, along with senior Rio Liu, who received hers for her work in the school garden.

Only seniors are eligible for the SCDS Awards of Excellence.

Grant Miner and Maxwell Shukuya won the Communications Award of Excellence; Anna Wiley received the English Award; Lara Kong received the Music Award; Keegan Crain and Erik Morfin-Ruiz received the Physical Education Award; and Emma Williams won the Science Award.

Headmaster Stephen Repsher awarded the Alice & Herbert Matthews Scholarships, J. Wesley Jamison Scholarship, and Kingman Tung, M.D., Award for Academic Excellence and Exceptional Character.

Seniors Jaspreet Gill and Aishwarya Nadgauda received the Alice & Herbert Matthews Scholarships, Gill for creative writing and Nadgauda for mathematics. Senior Claire Pinson was awarded the Jamison Scholarship, which recognizes excellence in science.

Nadgauda and senior Chien Ho received the Kingman Tung Award.

Athletic director Matt Vargo presented the Country Day Scholar-Athlete Awards.

Freshman recipients were Katia Dahmani and Jayce McCain. Sophomore  recipients were Natalie Brown and Emil Erickson. Junior recipients were Aidan Galati and Bradford Petchauer. Senior recipients were Pinson and Ethan Ham.

This was the fourth year that Ham has received the Scholar-Athlete Award.

Pinson and Ham also received the CIF Dale Lacky Scholarship Awards.

Seniors Skovran Cunningham and Reddy received the Sports Boosters Club Awards, and Nadgauda received the Parents’ Association’s Amicus Award, for being the best friend to the senior class.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email