Point of Interest: Octagon wins first Pacemaker since 2002

The 2011-12 Octagon won a Pacemaker, the “Pulitzer Prize of high-school journalism,” at the  JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in San Antonio, Texas, Nov. 15-18.

The paper has been a finalist for the award five times but won it only once before—2001-02.

The Octagon also placed fourth in Best of Show in the 9-12 page category at the convention.

In addition, juniors Darby Bosco, Ryan Ho, Connor Martin and Kamira Patel and senior Jeffrey Caves received individual awards in write-off contests.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email